The Sacraments

Getting into Heaven is our goal (Matthew 6:25-33). You must have Sanctifying Grace in your soul when you die to enter into Heaven. Sanctifying Grace is God’s life in the soul and is chiefly obtained through the Seven Sacraments. A Sacrament is an outward sign made by Jesus Christ to give you grace. An outward sign is anything you can see, hear, or feel, which tells you about something you cannot see. Each Sacrament is a direct encounter with Christ, who is the One who really give the Sacrament. Christ gave His Church only the essential parts of each Sacrament; the Church has surrounded each Sacrament with ceremony. The Seven Sacraments are:

Holy Eucharist
Extreme Unction-Anointing of the sick
Holy Matrimony
Holy Orders

Traditionally, the Church speaks about the Sacraments of the Living and the Sacraments of the Dead. Baptism and Penance are called sacraments of the dead because their chief purpose is to give the supernatural life of sanctifying grace to souls spiritually dead through sin. Confirmation, Holy Eucharist, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony are called sacraments of the living because their chief purpose is to give more grace to souls already spiritually alive through sanctifying grace. He who knowingly receives a sacrament of the living in mortal sin commits a mortal sin of sacrilege, because he treats a sacred thing with grave irreverence. (I Corinthians 11:27)